Black Bean ‘Hummus’

10 Jun

Black Bean Hummus

It may not be the prettiest looking thing, but where it lacks in looks it makes up for in taste! I’m not a huge fan of hummus, but put black beans in front of me and I go crazy. So I decided to combine the two beans (black and chickpeas) in attempt to make a healthy snack I could stand.

This type of recipe is so versatile. You’re pretty much free to add any type of flavorings you’re taste buds crave. I started off going spicy then added sesame oil which gave it a smokier, Asian flare. No matter, have fun making this recipe your own!

For the ‘hummus’:

1 can chickpeas

1 can black beans

1/4 cup liquid from each can

1/4 onion

1/4 red pepper

1/2 cup salsa

2 teaspoons garlic powder

1/2 teaspoon cumin

about 1/4 cup pickled jalapenos

1 tablespoon jalapeno juice

1/8 teaspoon sesame oil (optional)

Combine all ingredients in a food processor and pulse until you have a smooth mixture. If you don’t have a large enough food processor, blend in a blender or pulse in smaller batches.


Black Bean Hummus2

I really enjoyed the flavor of this dip, especially served on toasted bread pieces. It can also be served with various crackers or veggie slices. For a hot dip, try adding cream cheese and shredded cheese and baking in the oven.

6 Responses to “Black Bean ‘Hummus’”

  1. Brother Jon June 10, 2012 at 1:50 pm #

    I had hummus for the first time this past Thanksgiving. I wasn’t really a fan. It wasn’t bad, but it could have been a lot better. I think this will change my mind about this dish. Thanks

  2. K Rude June 10, 2012 at 9:59 pm #

    Oh yummm! I am obsessed with black beans. So cheap too! I will absolutely be making this.

    Question: what does adding the liquid from the cans do? I’ve never done that when making hummus, but all the hummus I’ve made kind of sucks, so maybe that’s why.

    • addalittlesunshine June 11, 2012 at 8:05 am #

      You’ll need a bit of liquid to help make it smoother and creamier. Instead of using water, it gives nice extra flavor to add the juice the beans have been swimming around in. But that’s all up to you!

  3. Jason E. Marshall June 11, 2012 at 4:32 pm #

    That looks like an interesting spin! I’ll have to try that out!

And the verdict is..

