English Breakfast Tea Cookies

7 Jun

English Breakfast Tea Cookie

I got very excited when I saw A Lot On Your Plate was hosting a bake-off this month for cookies, and of course I had to join in! The goal was to make the cookies as simple as possible so I went on search for the perfect recipe. I considered no-bake cookies because I love them oh so much, but figured that’s been done time and time again. Thankfully I happened upon this recipe that sounded equally delicious as it was easy.

I’m a sucker for hot tea. That’s probably why I get giddy when looking at tea pot/cup sets. After doing a research paper on the health benefits of tea my freshmen year, I became obsessed with the stuff. After finding this recipe for cookies with tea leaves baked right in, I knew I had struck gold. And simple.. you bet!

For the cookies:

1 cup all purpose flour

1/4 cup granulated sugar

1/4 cup confectioners’ sugar

1 tablespoon black tea leaves

1/4 teaspoon salt

1/2 teaspoon vanilla

1 teaspoon water

1/2 cup butter (1 stick)

Option 1:

Preheat the oven to 375 degrees. In a food processor, add all the dry ingredients and pulse until the tea leaves are finely ground. Next add in the remaining ingredients and pulse until a dough begins to form. On a sheet of wax or parchment paper, roll out your dough into a log. Wrap the paper around the log to smooth it out. At this point you can freeze your dough for later use or chill for 15 minutes before slicing into 1/3 inch pieces. Bake for 12 minutes or until sides begin to brown.English Breakfast Tea Cookie2

Option 2:

If you don’t own a large enough food processor there’s still hope! Preheat the oven to 375 degrees. In a bowl, whisk together flour, confectioners’ sugar, salt, and tea leaves (make sure the leaves are finely ground by pulsing them in a food processor if necessary). Beat the butter and granulated sugar together in a large bowl until combined. Beat in your vanilla and water. Add in the dry ingredients and mix until a dough forms. On a sheet of wax or parchment paper, roll out your dough into a log. Wrap the paper around the log to smooth it out. At this point you can freeze your dough for later use or chill for 15 minutes before slicing into 1/3 inch pieces. Bake for 12 minutes or until sides begin to brown.


English Breakfast Tea Cookie5

I love the little specks of black the tea leaves form in these cookies. Don’t worry if you think you must purchase full leaf tea for this recipe. Pop open a tea bag and it works just as wonderfully. They go nicely as a snack with afternoon tea or a large glass of milk and they work great for cut-out cookies as they hold their shape very well. Be adventurous and try flavored or green teas as an alternative! I found my recipe at TheKitchn. Makes about 2 dozen cookies.

*Update: I recommend using strong brewed tea in place of the water to give it an added tea flavor.

12 Responses to “English Breakfast Tea Cookies”

  1. tattoomummy June 7, 2012 at 5:38 pm #

    I have a wonderfully sweet locally made french earl grey which I will try with this!

  2. alotonyourplate June 7, 2012 at 6:20 pm #

    I am absolutely loving this recipe!! what a great job; I need to make these asap! thank you for participating 🙂

    • addalittlesunshine June 7, 2012 at 6:25 pm #

      Oh you’re very welcome! It was fun being presented with a challenge.

  3. notimeforironing June 8, 2012 at 4:15 pm #

    What a lovely idea. We are big fans of tea, maybe because we’re British? But just recently we’ve started using loose tea and it is soooo much better. I recently bought some tea called green tea blue sky from a place called Lee Rosy’s in Nottingham, they have a huge range of tea! This tea is very fragrant with beautiful blue and red petals and I think would work perfectly with this recipe, thanks for sharing.

    • addalittlesunshine June 8, 2012 at 4:38 pm #

      I’m a big fan of loose leaf tea as well which is a good thing since it’s much healthier for you! But that does sound lovely and I imagine will go great with this recipe! Hope you enjoy it 🙂

    • addalittlesunshine June 8, 2012 at 4:44 pm #

      And might I add, for a stronger hint of tea I plan to add strong brewed tea in place of the water in the recipe. Possibly even adding a few extra teaspoons. Choice is yours!

  4. Hugs, Kisses and Snot June 18, 2012 at 9:18 am #

    What a great idea. I bought hibiscus tea at the farmers market a few weeks ago and it has been my fav. I think I’ll try your cookies w/ the hibiscus tea and hope for the best.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. … and the 1st Ever “A Lot On Your Plate’s Use What You’ve Got” Bake-off Winner is … (Guest Post) | A Lot On Your Plate - June 18, 2012

    […] English Breakfast Tea Cookies submitted by: Add A Little Sunshine […]

  2. Tea and Cookies | no time for ironing - June 24, 2012

    […] A few weeks ago I entered a cookie bake-off which was organised by Jess at A Lot On Your Plate.  It was half term, so The Fireman and I baked peanut butter cookies together. They were sooo good and didn’t last very long at all. I had a browse through the other entries and came across English Breakfast Tea Cookies by Add A Little Sunshine […]

And the verdict is..

