Dark Chocolate Sea Salt Brownies

28 May

Dark chocolate sea salt brownie

Confession: I’ve never been a major chocolate eater. But that didn’t stop me from buying four (yes, 4!) bars of chocolate recently. The chocolate isle must have cast a spell over me because I absolutely couldn’t resist. After getting home and eating the red velvet cake flavored bar, I moved on to devouring the black currant and almond one, which happens to be my new favorite. With my chocolate sweet tooth satisfied and two bars of chocolate left, what was I to do? Turn them into brownies, of course!

Dark chocolate sea salt brownie 3

I’m sorta picky when it comes to my taste in brownies. I don’t like them too rich or too gooey. After searching and searching, I finally found a recipe I thought would be to my liking, and they did turn out delicious! If you enjoy a mix of sweet and salty flavors, this one’s worth trying.

Dark chocolate sea salt brownie 2

For the brownies:

7 oz dark chocolate, chopped

-I used Lindt Dark Chocolate with a Touch of Sea Salt and Ghirardelli 72% Dark Chocolate.

8 tablespoons unsalted butter, cut into quarters

3 tablespoons cocoa powder

3 large eggs

1  1/4 cups sugar

2 teaspoons vanilla extract

1/2 teaspoon salt

1 cup all-purpose flour

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Line an 8-inch baking dish with foil and spray lightly with nonstick spray; set aside.

In a double boiler or a pan set over simmering water, melt the butter and chocolate stirring occasionally. Once melted, stir in the cocoa powder and set aside.

In a large bowl, combine the eggs, sugar, vanilla, and salt; whisk until combined. Add the chocolate mixture and whisk to combine. With a wooden spoon, stir in the flour until just combined.  

Pour the mixture into the baking dish and smooth the top. Bake for 35-40 minutes or until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out with a small amount of crumbs stuck to it. Transfer to a wire rack and cool to room temperature. Remove brownies from pan using the foil, cut, and serve!


I had added an extra 1/2 teaspoon of sea salt to my batter but found the crunch and super salty bites were too much for me. If you would like the added salt, feel free, although I believe the salt amount would be just perfect only using the sea salt chocolate bar. For those of you who really enjoy the dark chocolate flavor, using dark chocolate cocoa powder and a higher percentage dark chocolate bar would work. I rolled a few of mine in crushed pistachios for serving. I adapted my recipe from Annie’s Eats.

2 Responses to “Dark Chocolate Sea Salt Brownies”

  1. cookinggamer May 29, 2012 at 2:20 pm #

    Wow! I love the fact that you are using real chocolate in your recipe! Lindt chocolate is easily one of my favourites! Can’t wait to try it!

    • addalittlesunshine May 29, 2012 at 4:28 pm #

      This was actually my first time making homemade brownies instead of a box mix. I definitely enjoyed them more!

And the verdict is..

