Limoncello Italian Ice

22 May

Okay, okay, so this recipe doesn’t use actual Limoncello, but it’s delicious all the same. I remember as a kid I used to get all giggly and excited over Italian ice from the summertime vendors that would pop up around town. The bright colors and exotic (to me) sounding flavors were so tempting, though, never fail, I always chose plain ole’ grape. Thankfully my taste buds have developed since then yet I still crave that Italian ice when the summers get sweltering hot (as they already are in Florida). Simply mixing fruit juices with simple syrup and throwing it in the freezer only gives you a hunk of flavored ice. When I found this recipe on Annie’s Eats I was ecstatic! The addition of a tad of sweet, white wine makes this freeze up just enough while still being icy, since alcohol doesn’t freeze.

This recipe is highly adaptable, and could be made with any flavor fruit juice or soda you’re craving. I first tried it with pomegranate and was very pleased. I thought I’d share my attempt at trying it with a soda. Limoncellino Sorrento-style Soda to be exact, which I found at World Market. It’s similar in taste to a slightly sour lemonade but with carbonation.

Limoncello Italian Ice

For the Italian Ice:

1 cup juice/soda of choice

1/4 cup sugar

2-3 tablespoons sweet, white wine (such as Moscato or Riesling)

In a small saucepan over medium heat, combine 1/4 cup of the juice/soda with the sugar and heat, stirring occasionally, until sugar is dissolved. Remove from heat and add in remaining juice/soda. Stir in the wine. At this point you can either chill the mixture in the refrigerator and then freeze it in an ice cream maker, or simply put it straight in the freezer, covered (like I did since I lack an ice cream maker).


Freezing the mixture in an ice cream maker will probably produce a smoother texture, but simply freezing mine gave it the icy consistency of Italian ice which I love. Using the Limoncellino soda gave this a nice, crisp flavor making for a wonderful daytime snack or after dinner dessert. And no worries, the wine doesn’t make it inedible for kids.

9 Responses to “Limoncello Italian Ice”

  1. sharingmemyselfandi May 22, 2012 at 6:06 pm #

    Sounds easy enough. I may have to try this one.

  2. Oh My Veggies (@ohmyveggies) May 23, 2012 at 6:53 pm #

    I always hated lemon Italian ice when I was a kid and wondered why my mom liked it so much (I was more of a strawberry girl myself), but now I can’t get enough of it. Especially on hot summer days!

    • addalittlesunshine May 24, 2012 at 9:54 am #

      I’ve only recently decided I like strong lemon flavors, but man I want to incorporate it into everything! But I’ll admit, I’ve never had strawberry Italian ice. Guess I need to give it a try, too!

  3. joannaeva May 23, 2012 at 9:02 pm #

    you are killing me!! making this this weekend!!!

  4. Alison June 11, 2012 at 9:14 pm #

    This looks delicious!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. What I Ate Wednesday! « addalittlesunshine - May 30, 2012

    […] ended lunch with the remainder of my refreshing Limoncello Italian Ice. Which reminds me, I need to make […]

And the verdict is..

