Simple, Healthy Chocolate Muffins

2 May

When I first tasted these muffins, I instantly loved them. Once I learned what they were baked with, I was amazed! And trust me when I say “simple” is an understatement. Instead of the usual oil, eggs, and water, these little jewels are baked with pumpkin making them much healthier and, in my opinion, more moist. The best part is, people will never know! Adam ate his fair share before I informed him of the pumpkin baked inside and he still came back for seconds.

You will need:

1 box chocolate cake mix (I used devil’s food)

1 can pumpkin puree

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Simply mix the canned pumpkin with the dry cake mix (don’t add the oil, eggs, and water). Once well combined, scoop mix into muffin tins (I made mini muffins). Bake according to directions on box, or around 15 minutes for minis.


I sprinkled the tops of mine with powdered sugar but they could easily be iced for making cupcakes or baked into a cake. A spice cake mix could also be used in place of the chocolate for a more fall inspired treat. These are a much healthier alternative to regular cupcakes/muffins, and are very kid friendly. If I remember correctly, I was told this is a Weight Watcher’s recipe.

2 Responses to “Simple, Healthy Chocolate Muffins”

  1. Jon PD Hagar May 2, 2012 at 11:13 pm #

    The simpler the better. I think you were speaking to me directly when you posted this. All I need now is a muffin pan.

And the verdict is..

