In my heart, forever.

26 Apr

I hate that I haven’t had the opportunity to add a new post this week, but life became very, unexpectedly hectic. With this I wanted to take the opportunity to share the story of my Meme (my grandmother) who passed away on Wednesday, April 18.

 

 

I know it’s so often said that you never know what you have until you lose it, but death certainly has presented that to me. I received a call Tuesday evening informing me that my grandmother was in the hospital after suffering two heart attacks and the chances of her survival were practically nothing. After taking her off life support the next day, her heart stopped almost immediately and the world lost a wonderful soul.

My Meme was a woman full of spirit, love, and religion. Her personality shone through in this big, brilliant smile that would light up her face so often. I can remember a time when we traveled to South Carolina together to spend a weekend with her sister and the two of them paraded around the house singing and marching with kitchen utensils. And not only was she someone to have a good time with, but she was a good friend to many. Fittingly, her last few hours on Earth she had baked and delivered cupcakes to a dear friend of hers.

 

 

I spent many summers with her as a child baking scotcheroos, festive cookies, rice krispy treats and eating her wonderful squash casserole. She taught me to knit scarves and how to play rummy, and she crammed into my head Psalm 23. I would sometimes go to church with my grandparents where Meme sang in the choir. I can also recall memories of practicing piano at her house after school. Once I got older we would spend afternoons together walking around downtown shops and eating the foods my grandfather wasn’t very fond of. And never fail, dessert was to follow because my grandmother had the biggest sweet tooth of anyone I know. On my most recent visit, about a week before her passing, she sent me home with several of her cookbooks that I will cherish forever.

 

 

Funerals become opportunities to hear stories of a loved one and meet the people who’s lives have been touched. Meme was a local elementary school teacher meaning she touched the lives of many. Seeing the tears and hearing the wonderful things people had to say about my grandmother put into perspective how special a person she was to the ones outside of our family. I find comfort knowing her son, parents, and mother-in-law were waiting with open arms to welcome her into a new life.


“Unable are the loved to die.  For love is immortality.”  -Emily Dickinson

 

2 Responses to “In my heart, forever.”

  1. hsk100 April 26, 2012 at 10:26 pm #

    I’m so sorry for your loss 😦 You’re lucky to have had someone so special in your life…

And the verdict is..

